Current Events & Giveaways:

Barnes & Noble partners with Adaptive Studios which brings unproduced screenplays into great books! Shop B&N Exclusive selection of Adaptive Books online and in-stores.

Monday, February 10, 2014

Made the Grade: The Disgraced Lords Series, Book 1

- This is an ARC book - Available Formats through Kindle Edition - File Size: 1664 KB | Expected Release Date: January 14, 2014 | Publisher: Loveswept | Obtained: NetGalley

"A Kiss of Lies" [The Disgraced Lords Series, Book 1] by Bronwen Evans

Author's Book Description : In Bronwen Evans’s Loveswept debut, a pair of damaged souls ignite each other’s deepest passions—even as they tempt fate by deceiving the world.

Desperate to escape her abusive past, Sarah Cooper disguises herself as a governess in the employ of Christian Trent, Earl of Markham, the man who, long ago, she fantasized about marrying. Despite the battle scars that mar his face, Sarah finds being near Christian rekindles her infatuation. A governess, however, has no business in the arms of an earl, and as she accompanies Christian on his voyage home, Sarah must resist her intense desires—or risk revealing her dangerous secrets.

One of the renowned Libertine Scholars, Christian Trent once enjoyed the company of any woman he chose. But that was before the horrors of Waterloo, his wrongful conviction of a hideous crime, and his forcible removal from England. Far from home and the resources he once had, Christian believes the life he knew--and any chance of happiness--is over ... until his ward’s governess sparks his heart back to life, and makes him remember the man he used to be. Now Christian is determined to return to England, regain his honor, and win the heart of the woman he has come to love.

My Book Review : 3 out of 5 stars, two lost souls find each other and fall in love during times in their lives when they are making plans on turning their lives around in one way or another.

Together Christian & Sarah make one refreshing and determined couple who take their past experiences and turn them into something special. Even though their pasts were very tragic, in some ways, they would go through them all again if they were given the option because it means that they could finally meet! My only wish is that the ending, even though it was adventurous and twistingly surprising, didn't feel so rushed and wrapped up fairly quickly.

However, this novel does build up to an intriguing series full of mystery and passion, with it's domineering men and sweet sultry women! I can't wait to see where this series will take its readers!

I recommend this series to those who enjoy historical romances!

Purchase This Book and/or The Other Books From It's Series Here :

Author's Novel Extras : A Kiss of Lies - Overview & Excerpt | How Do You Find Romance...Books that is? | New Release - A Kiss of Lies Blog Tour | First Kiss Wednesday

Author's Series Extras : A Promise of More - Overview & Excerpt | Bronwen Evans Read, Feel, Fall in love... | Tasty Summer Reads | Goodbye 2013 - Hello 2014

Book Teaser(s) :
"Mrs. Cooper, you look lovely this evening. Doesn't she, Lily?"
Lily nodded. "Mrs. Cooper's the most beautiful woman I've ever seen." Her smile faltered and she moved to open the locket at her neck. "Except Mama, of course."
Sarah bent down to study the image. "You look just like her." She tapped her finger on Lily's little nose. "You'll be as beautiful as your mother when you're older."
Lily giggled. "I hope so. Then I can marry a man as perfect as Lord Markham. I'd ask him to wait for me to grow up, but I think he should marry you, because he's lonely and you make him smile." ~ within Chapter 6
For more information on this book, series, and/or any other books by Bronwen, then please check out her website.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking your time to comment!! =0)

*I have the right to remove comments that I would consider spam*

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...