Current Events & Giveaways:

Barnes & Noble partners with Adaptive Studios which brings unproduced screenplays into great books! Shop B&N Exclusive selection of Adaptive Books online and in-stores.

Saturday, February 27, 2016

Made the Grade: Second Chances Series, Book 6

- This is an ARC book - Available Formats through Amazon: Kindle Edition - File Size: 550 KB | Expected Release Date: April 5, 2016 | Publisher: Random House Publishing : Loveswept | Obtained: NetGalley

"Catching Summer" [Second Chances Series, Book 6] by L. P. Dover

Author's Book Description : Hailed by Heidi McLaughlin as a bestselling author who “knows how to create the men who make us swoon,” L. P. Dover returns with an edgy, emotionally gripping Second Chances novel about a beautiful widow who can't resist a chiseled NFL player.

Former nurse Summer Jacobs has seen her fair share of suffering, but she never expected tragedy to hit so close to home. After watching her husband die in the MMA ring, Summer spends the next two years fighting her way through the darkness. The last thing she needs is another hardheaded athlete turning her life upside down. But that's exactly what happens when she meets a gridiron star who's as skilled at stealing hearts as he is at snagging passes.

Carolina Cougars wide receiver Evan Townsend usually has no problem winning fans, so he's intrigued when Summer shoots down his go-to plays for winning a woman's attention. Never one to back down from a challenge, Evan turns up the heat, setting off sparks that neither can deny. But as his slow seduction begins to chase away Summer's pain, he gets the feeling that someone is desperate to keep them apart. Now Evan will do anything to protect her—because he never misses a chance to make a perfect catch.

Advance praise for "Catching Summer"

“L. P. Dover knows how to create the men who make us swoon, the book boyfriends we all want.”—New York Times bestselling author Heidi McLaughlin

“L. P. Dover masterfully weaves together agonizing heartbreak and swoon-worthy romance with ultimate suspense. This second-chance love story had me flipping the pages from the very first scene, craving more with each twist and turn.”—USA Today bestselling author L. B. Simmons

My Book Review : 3.5 out of 5 stars, this is a heart-wrenching tale about a woman (Summer) who is just recently getting over the tragic loss of her husband, along with his murder, and trying to start her life over with Evan, a football star that she's known for the past two years. However, there are people who are willing to do anything to keep Summer and Evan apart for good, even if that means brake-ins and killing others to get the results they want. Will the others succeed or will Summer and Evan’s love conquer all?

Okay, while I still agree with my earlier rant/statement, about how Summer’s naiveté when it came to people was pretty ridiculous, I will say that I'm glad I stuck with this novel because it's ending made up for how Summer handles the middle. Because of Summer and Evan getting to know one another over the past two years as friends that meant that when they finally stepped up to take their relationship to the next level (at the beginning of this novel) it was rushed but special. Their relationship was inevitable and charming. I loved the way Evan finally won Summer over and his possessive ways of caring for her. They were hotly sweet together. My only wish is that I could've liked Summer more; it was just hard to put up with/read about the things she believed were okay to do while in a relationship with someone else.

Overall, though, I still DO recommend this novel to those looking for a suspenseful contemporary sports romance.

Purchase This Book and/or The Other Books From It's Series Here : Smashwords (e-Book) : Love's Second Chance (Book 1) | Smashwords (e-Book) : What He Wants (Book 1.5) | Smashwords (e-Book) : Trusting You (Book 2) | Smashwords (e-Book) : Meant for Me (Book 3) | Smashwords (e-Book) : Fighting for Love (Book 4) | Smashwords (e-Book) : Intercepting Love (Book 5) | Smashwords (e-Book) : One Taste (Book 5.5) | IndieBound (Paperback) : Love’s Second Chance (Book 1) | IndieBound (Paperback) : Trusting You (Book 2) | IndieBound (Paperback) : Meant for Me (Book 3) | IndieBound (Paperback) : Fighting for Love (Book 4) | IndieBound (Paperback) : Intercepting Love (Book 5) | Kobo (e-Book) : Defending Hayden (Book 7) | Amazon (Kindle) : Love's Second Chance (Book 1) | Amazon (Kindle) : What He Wants (Book 1.5) | Amazon (Kindle) : Trusting You (Book 2) | Amazon (Kindle) : Meant for Me (Book 3) | Amazon (Kindle) : Fighting for Love (Book 4) | Amazon (Kindle) : Intercepting Love (Book 5) | Amazon (Kindle) : One Taste (Book 5.5) | Amazon (Kindle) : Defending Hayden (Book 7)

Amazon (Kindle) : Catching Summer (Book 6)
Smashwords (e-Books) : Second Chances Series
Amazon (Paperbacks) : Second Chances Series

My Previous Mention(s) of this Author's Books/Characters : My CATCHING SUMMER by L. P. Dover halfway breakdown

Author's Novel Extras : Preorder Catching Summer!

Book Teaser(s) :
Sometimes you just have to break the rules. I had a feeling I was about to break a ton of them ... and I couldn't wait. ~ within Chapter 5 - titled 'Summer'

CATCHING SUMMER by L.P. Dover -- Read my #bookreview here:...

Posted by From Me to You - Video, Photography, & Book Reviews on Saturday, February 27, 2016
For more information on this book, series, and/or any other books by L. P., then please check out her Amazon Acct.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking your time to comment!! =0)

*I have the right to remove comments that I would consider spam*

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...