Current Events & Giveaways:

Barnes & Noble partners with Adaptive Studios which brings unproduced screenplays into great books! Shop B&N Exclusive selection of Adaptive Books online and in-stores.

Friday, January 20, 2012

Disappointmentville: Virgin River Series, Book 6

Format: Paperback | Pages: 416 | Release Date: March 2009 | Publisher: Mira Books | Obtained: Friends of the Pasquotank-Camden Library - Fall Book Sale

"Temptation Ridge" [Virgin River Series, Book 6] by Robyn Carr

My Book Summary : After putting her life on hold for the last five years, at 25-years-old Shelby's life finally changes once her mother passes away. She sells their house, moves in with her Uncle Walt and cousins for the fall and winter, and plans to travel and get back into college within the next year. However, while she's making plans for college and traveling doesn't mean she can't have any fun while she's visiting/staying with family in Virgin River ....

Luke just recently retired from the Army. He plans to move into and rebuild the rundown house and cabins, in Virgin River, that he and his younger brother purchased a while back, and plans to overhaul them and sell them to earn some profit. However, he soon realizes that Virgin River isn't the usual type of town. It's a place where they take care of their own, and make any newcomers feel like family.

Once Shelby and Luke meet, their attraction to each other is undeniable! Nevertheless, the 13-year age difference and personal life plans make it so Luke tries to stay away from Shelby as much as possible. However, as they get to know each other more over the weeks/months in Virgin River will they be able to stay apart from each other for long??

My Book Review : 2.5 out of 5 stars. This is the first book that I've read from this series, and even though it's within a series, I feel that each book can be read as a standalone novel. However, with that being said this novel/series, I've come to realize, is written in a way that each novel may have main characters but still has a bunch of sub-plots throughout the whole book. This makes it so some of the sub-plots that come up in one of the novels might not end until the next novel or a few novels after that. It's definitely a unique concept that made me even more interested in this series.

Nevertheless, I find that even though I thoroughly enjoyed reading about each of the main characters, the different plots, and the town. I didn't like this novel that well because of how the main characters (Luke and Shelby) story was dragged out. The first half I can understand, but by the time Thanksgiving came around and Luke is now having issues with his past come back to haunt him, it just got to be a little too much for me. Also, there were times when I got so caught up with what was going on between Luke and Shelby that I did get annoyed with having a new sub-plot come up because than I had to wait a couple of pages or chapters to get back to information about them.

Overall, though, I think this is a great series with lively characters and a wonderful town that I wish was real so I could visit! I recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys reading Susan Mallery's Fools Gold Series!!

Author's Series Extras : Jack's Bar Chatroom | Preacher's Recipes | Meet the People of Virgin River

Author Series Interview(s) :

Book Teaser(s) :
She gave him a peck on the lips. "How long will Sean be here?"
"Seriously, I'm going to kill him and hide the body."
"How long?" she demanded, though she smiled.
"He says a few days. But he doesn't know about his impending murder." ~ within Chapter 6
For more information on this book, series, and/or any other books by Robyn, then please check out her website.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking your time to comment!! =0)

*I have the right to remove comments that I would consider spam*

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...